Half Marathon?

Options
So I'm new to this running thing. It was always that one thing I couldn't do, so now I really want to do it.
A couple weeks ago I ran in my first official 5k.
Now some of my friends are signing up to run a half marathon at the end of July. I have found a few 10 week training programs online that seem reasonable -- up your long weekend run by a mile each week, increase your total miles every week. I think last weekend I did about a 4 mile run. It's still a challenge for me, mentally if not physically.
Am I crazy to be thinking about doing a half marathon?
Is 10 weeks enough time to go from 3 miles to 13.1?
I would love insight and experiences from people who have done this in the past.
Thanks!

Replies

• TeriB19
    TeriB19 Posts: 33
    Options
    Hi Jen!! I'm also a new runner. Well, new-ish. I started running almost exactly a year ago. I ran my first 5K in June of last year, my goal was just to finish. I did just that. I finished dead last with a time of 41.40 but I did it. After a few more 5K's I did a 10K last October. In just 2 weeks I'll be doing my first Half Marathon, the Marine Corps Historic Half. I've been training for a few weeks, upping my mileage little by little. Last Friday my running partner and I did 10 miles and I felt fantastic. It was actually kind of weird how good I felt. So NO you are NOT crazy for attempting a half, especially with 10 weeks to train. Just keep your eye on the prize, know your limits and do your best.

I'll be running the Marine Corps Marathon this year in October and I'm CERTAIN that I've lost my mind.

Teri
  • queensara2478
    Options