Just want some opinions please

Options
I was a newbie a year ago and like a lot of newbies I started eating 1200-1300 calories,I lost about 30 lbs last year. Last month I read In Place of a Road Map and upped my calories to 1800 and eat my exersize calories.. My BMR is 1852,my TDEE is 2553 at lightly active,I try to exercise 3 times a week (with MS and a 2 yr old its difficult) so the other days of the week I am not completely sedentary(2 yr old to look after). I am 35,weigh 248 and am 5'4".
So I have been at 1800 Cal's for a month now and gained 5 lbs,should I wait longer before changing my calories again? change them up or down?
When I exercise I do at least 30-60 min,walking,biking,or exersize bike.

I would just like some opinions. thank u :smile:

Replies

• nczuczu
    nczuczu Posts: 611 Member
    Options
    I like to use a Calorie Deficit Calculator (http://www.fitwatch.com/qkcalc/caloriedeficitcalculator.php). I took the information you provided and came up with this information (unlike the "in place of a roadmap", this does not take into account your body mass)

Total Daily Calorie Needs - 2183/sedentary or 2502/lightly active
    Calorie Deficit of 15% - 1856/sedentary or 2127/lightly active
    Calorie Deficit of 20% - 1747/sedentary or 2001/lightly active
    Calorie Deficit of 25% - 1635/sedentary or 1876/lightly active
    Calorie Deficit of 30% - 1528/sedentary or 1751/lightly active

I would try to stick within these parameters. I used this tool and went from 1260 (MFP recommended) to 1560 cal/day and have not regreted it. I am still consistently losing weight and am not hungry.
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,395 MFP Moderator
    Options