Is my scale broken, or what??

Options
For about 2 1/2 months now, I've been running and going to the gym 45 times a week. I used to do absolutely nothing for exercise, so this is a huge effort for me. When I'm at the gym, I typically do classes such as cardio kickboxing, power hour, and cardio jam; I recently started lifting weights, and that's something I'd like to get into more. I've been running a lot, I am training for my first 5k in 3 weeks. Also, I've been eating a ton more protein, counting calories, and eating a lot more healthy meals (tuna fish salad and Progresso soups are my favorites).

So.... why have I only lost 8 fricken pounds??? People have said recently that it looks like I lost a ton of weight and I'm looking great. While I love hearing that, truth is, I haven't lost that much. I feel I've been gaining muscles, which I know weighs more than fat, but I don't want my nice new muscles covered in fat!! I want to burn that fat off!! I'm 5'5" and weigh 181.4 pounds. My first goal weight is 160.

I drink some water, but not a lot. Honestly, maybe 2 water bottes a day. Could that be he only thing stopping me from becoming the fit chick I'm trying to be???

Replies

• AshCash803
    Options
    I'm no expert by any means, but I do know that the heavier you are, the faster you tend to lose weight (or the more pounds you drop in a given time frame). You aren't THAT overweight right now, so you shouldn't expect to lose a ton of weight super quickly. Also, you say you've been at it for about 2 and 1/2 months or 10 weeks, and you say you've lost 8 pounds. That's almost a pound a week, which is about right for someone your size. You're doing well! You've probably just gained some muscle and toned up a lot. Don't be so hard on yourself!
  • MysticRealm
    MysticRealm Posts: 1,264 Member
    Options
    Have you tried taking your measurements?
  • avielosesit
    avielosesit Posts: 79 Member
    Options