What to expect and how to train for a half marathon

Options
I am a year out. I'm a crappy runner, but I'm getting there. I needed a goal. A big one. That's why I signed up for one so far away.

I have some running shoes, I did a couple 5ks...What else is there besides building up my speed, stamina, etc.

I saw a thread about gels...what and who and huh?

Did I get myself in a pickle here? What else is there to know about running a half?

Edit...I do have the site for Hal Higdon...so I have the 20-week training plan in my future forecast. Just curious about any other stuff. Like...gels...

Replies

• squirrell79
    squirrell79 Posts: 155 Member
    Options
    I'm running my first half marathon next month, so I'm no expert. But I've been running for good while so here goes....

First, it depends on your running history from the last few months up to now, but I'd probably go with using the next 6 months to establish a nice solid base of X miles per week. Then find a program you like (Hal Hidgon, Jeff Galloway, etc.) and stick with it.

I wouldn't worry too much about aids such as gels at this moment in time. One of my friends who does half marathons doesn't use them, simply because the distance isn't long enough for her to need them. But that's going to vary with each individual, and you'll be able to suss out those issues when you start doing looooong runs.

As far as building up your speed and stamina: unless you have a target time in your sights, I wouldn't worry about speed. Long runs will build your endurance. Your program will probably have some tempo and/or hill work built into it, too, and these are good things for stamina and strength.

The last thing I'd do is work in some strength training. Not just your upper body, either; make sure you work those legs. You don't need a gym; you can find a ton of bodyweight strength exercise routines online.

Congratulations on setting this goal for yourself! Enjoy the journey.
  • devilwhiterose