daily sugar goal question

Options
gypsy102
gypsy102 Posts: 14 Member
Hi, I am new to MFP, I have 25 consecutive days logged in and I have been exercising and losing since Jan. Up to 18 lbs so far!!!

I am addicted to orange juice. I don't drink coffee or tea, but I have to have my orange juice in the morning. I used to have at least 2-3 glasses a day. I have cut it down to one serving, of 8 oz. This contains 22 g of sugar!! My goal according to MFP is 31 g per day! So, I have almost reached that before I even walk out the door in the morning.

Needless to say, I have gone over in sugar every day. Is 31 g per day too low, or is it a reasonable goal? Does anyone else have this problem?

Thanks!!

Jen

Replies

• jkohan
    jkohan Posts: 184 Member
    Options
    Congrats on logging for over a month--that's awesome! Sadly, orange juice (as are most juices) are loaded with sugar. I get 31 grams a day too--and if I have a V8 or fruit with my bfast, I, too, have already used most of my sugar grams on bfast.

I DO think 31 is doable--my personal opinion is that sugar is one of the key factors in not losing weight unless you are in the gym doing major workouts of 2 hours or more a day.

One day at a time. Calories followed by sugar are my priority and I know that I will eventually find a reasonable balance with all the nutrients in my diet.

Good luck!
  • dgrebin
    dgrebin Posts: 3
    Options
    I would suggest finding low-sugar orange juice. Just found one online. Tropicana light and Healthy orange juice, and it only has 10 grams of sugar!!
  • lgblack
    lgblack Posts: 73 Member
    Options