lost 6lbs in a week with High Protein, Any advise?

Options
Hello there.
I lost 50lbs over the past year and a half but for understandable reasons when getting closer to my goal weight my body would not seem to drop the last 15 then 10 pounds no matter how high I worked.
Soooo with my own understanding of nutrition I decided to eat a lot of protein to maintain my muscle (to burn the fat) and eat very low carbs and sugars (to force my body to burn what fat it has and not pack on anymore). As a result my body quickly dropped 6 lbs rapidly. I have researched and found out any high protein or restrictive diet is not recommended for a long period of time.
I am thinking about doing it again the week (I took last weekend off). Any advise? Anyone did this before? Thank you and have a great day!!!:flowerforyou:

Replies

• SimonLondon
    SimonLondon Posts: 350
    Options
    I'm not an expert but judging by everyone else on here you're losing treble what most people here aim for (max of 2lb).

That does seem a lot to lose so quickly. Also if you lose too quick your skin will sag because you're losing faster than the elasticity in your skin can cope with. That's what scared me and stopped me going too mad on a diet :smile:
  • poustotah
    poustotah Posts: 1,121 Member
    Options
    I've done this and continue to intake a high amount of protein over 100 g a day. When I first started doing this, I lost a lot of weight in the first week and then it leveled off and I kept to losing 2 lb a week. If you're taking in a high amount of protein for a long period of time it will damage your kidney's so you have to drink more water to wash it out. 100 g is not too excessive and now helps me to maintain my weight and lean out. Restrictive diets are never recommended because people don't stick to them (among other reasons).
  • waguchan
    waguchan Posts: 450 Member
    Options