Ok, Im scared! (Thyroid)

Options
I have been doing some research into thyroid problems, and I have a few symptoms of hypothyroid, but not a lot.

I have recently lost 40lbs over the last year, and for the past 6 months - I have been totally stuck (I tried IF, and that worked for a bit but once I stopped, the weight loss stopped as well). I am wondering if someone with hypothyroid would still have been able to lose weight (40lbs) in a years time? Or if a person had hypothyroidism would have been unable to lose anything no matter how hard they try?

Replies

• Rgtjax85
    Rgtjax85 Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    If you are experiencing some symptoms make an appointment with your doctor. I have no experience with that part of my health. I hope you will be okay. I knew a guy that had some weight on him but was of average weight for his age but developed thyroid issues and was scrawny as a rod. I hope it is nothing. :-)
  • broox80
    broox80 Posts: 1,195 Member
    Options
    I wasnt really showing symptoms. My doc discovered mine during a yearly physical and confirmed through blood work. My levels havent changed in about 2 years so its pretty well controlled.
  • lithezebra
    lithezebra Posts: 3,670 Member
    Options
    Just get tested if you're concerned. It's totally treatable. You might have more trouble losing weight if you were hypothyroid, but a lot of people who aren't hypothyroid have that problem too.
  • LillyBoots
    LillyBoots Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    you need to get the bloods done and medication sorted. I'm losing weight steadily now that I'm on the right dose of Eutroxsig. There is a group on here dedicated to people losing weight with a thyroid condition, you may want to join.
  • ChapinaGrande
    ChapinaGrande Posts: 289 Member
    Options