Something that happened to me

pfenixa
pfenixa Posts: 194 Member
edited September 20 in Health and Weight Loss
So I've been eating and exercising properly for about two months now. 4 weeks ago my husband and I changed our workout of running from a casual 2 miles to trying to do an 8 minute mile, and we did this about 4-5 times that week. I kept eating like usual and noticed at my weigh in that I had gained a pound. It bugged me, but I let it slide. The next week we did 8 minute miles for 3 days and over the weekend a friend came to visit for 4 days. We didn't exercise (other than walking all around DC for one of the days) and ate out half the time, including two milkshakes. So I wasn't suprised when I gained another pound at the next weigh in.

Well, last week we slacked off some because my husband's shins have been hurting. I think we were both hurting from pushing those 8 min miles. Probably ran 2 days at a casual pace and only walked one day. Then come to my suprise, when I weighed in for that week, I'd lost 8 pounds!

I was really confused at first, knowing my effort for the week didn't match that number and that I definitely would have noticed 8 pounds in how I felt. And I knew I didn't read the scale wrong the previous weeks. My husband talked to a co-worker that's into fitness who said that what he thinks happened is that the two weeks I had gained weight, it was actually water weight from my body retaining water for repairing my muscles at the new intensity of our running sessions. Then the week we relaxed all the water weight came off and I could finally see the actual weight loss from all 3 weeks.

I just wanted to post this, well, to see if anyone more knowledgable thinks this sounds right. Also, if it is right, just as something for those that this also happens to, to know they're still on the right track.

Replies

• jillcwhite
    jillcwhite Posts: 181 Member