Running difficulties

workoutqueen628
workoutqueen628 Posts: 220
edited September 20 in Fitness and Exercise
I run all year round! I love it! I have recently increased my running to 5 to 6 miles, which I could do without too much difficulty. On one of my runs, I got a horrible blister on the bottom of my foot (prob. from wearing the wrong socks), so I decided to take a week off running, which is a big deal for me because I never just take a break!! And ever since them, I have had difficulties getting back to where I started! It's all mental I know that, because I know I have the endurance to do it, but I just keep thinking in my head that I can't. I cut myself some slack for a little bit and would run a little and then walk a little, and now it seems that I just let myself stop and walk during a run!! I have never done this before- if i'm tired and need to slow down, that's fine, but if there's one thing I learned from cross country in high school, it's that you don't stop running on the trail!! And now the heat is another challenge as well! I feel like my body is overcompensating due to the humidity- it makes me breathe heavy even when I'm not going that fast! Urrrgh! I'm frustrated and need some motivation- HELP!

Replies

• ATXrunner
    ATXrunner Posts: 41
    I've been through this as well. What I do after taking a break due to vacation/injury is starting with shorter distances to increase confidence in my stamina and speed. Since your endurance "block" is in your head, perhaps you can (re)build your muscle to be sure that you don't tire in the slightest during your run. A bit of caffeine or new songs on my ipod also pump me up to increase my mileage/speed. Good luck! :flowerforyou:
  • smallmall
    smallmall Posts: 6
    Find a 10K near you in a month print off a training plan for it, then start from tomorrow following that. Having a goal will definitely help the mental part and your body should conform with your mind :-)

Sarah Personal trainer NASM