Low calorie diet/weight loss/ no period

Options
2»

Replies

• jzammetti
    jzammetti Posts: 1,956 Member
    Options
    I am with the majority of the responses. I think you may have an eating disorder and recommend seeing a doctor without delay. This is raising some red flags.

If your doctor refers you to a psychiatrist, do not be alarmed because there is nothing shameful about it. It is not because you're "crazy". I talked to a psychiatrist on my last tour in Afghanistan. They can help you.

Thank you for your service! And for poiting out that there is no shame in seeking professional help.
  • KatNewby
    KatNewby Posts: 26
    Options
    Menstruation is highly correlated with body fat, so as you gain weight you will likely regain a monthly cycle. However, I am not a doctor and therefore I can't say with certainty that your lack of body fat is the reason for your loss of menstruation, but there is a high probability.
    In most cases, it's low energy availability that comes first. Most women here do not get their body fat low enough for it to be the cause.

Totally agree, for the majority of us.

After some reading, I found this tid bit:

"Low-calorie diets and inadequate nutrition that cause energy deficits are thought to be the primary cause of menstrual dysfunction rather than simple low body fat, according to Dr. Anne Loucks of Ohio University."
  • thelovelyLIZ
    thelovelyLIZ Posts: 1,227 Member
    Options
    Lack of a period is basically a sign of your body shutting down and you are putting it through too much. You need to be eating much, much more if you're that active.

I agree with others, these are sign of an eating disorder and you should really see a professionally about this ASAP before your hair starts falling out or your organs start shutting down.
  • neandermagnon
    neandermagnon Posts: 7,436 Member
    Options