Finding the Plan That Works For You

Options
I'm a writer by trade, and I write mostly because it helps me explore a subject for myself. I'm writing this in hopes of achieving that goal, and I think this posting might help someone out there with similar challenges to mine.

I am a 27-year old male, and I stand six-feet, one inch tall. I have played sports for most of my life, and my weight has fluctuated a lot over time. I played centerfield in high school at 200 pounds, and with my muscle structure, that's an acceptable weight. I've also ballooned up to 270 pounds on more than one occasion, including this one, which prompted my current lifestyle change.

I have tried a number of different diet approaches, and I have yo-yoed for much of my young life. I've been on a starvation diet, a Special K diet, a Raisin Bran diet, and a diet made up entirely of Healthy Choice French Bread Pizza. This time, though, I've done things differently. And because of that, my plan has been easier and much more fun.

What challenges do I have? First, I am a full-time law student, taking 18 hours of school with graduation pending in a couple of weeks. I also work a 5-day internship which has me at the office 25 hours per week. I run a freelance writing business in my spare time. I interview for jobs and send out resumes regularly. To say that I am busy would be an understatement.

In addition, I have come into this with no knowledge of cooking and a host of bad eating habits. I understand that this does not make me unique in these parts. Still, I used to eat three fast food meals per day, and I would routinely supersize everything. It is only through the grace of a decent metabolism that I haven't gained up into the 300s. In a way, I have been blessed to keep my weight at a place where it's been manageable.