What is "Processed Food"?

Options
slkehl
slkehl Posts: 3,801 Member
I studied nutrition science in college, and "processed food" wasn't a term I remember being used. I looked up the definition today, and here's what I found:

"Food processing is the transformation of raw ingredients into food, or of food into other forms."

By that definition, processed food seems to include just about everything at the supermarket except for raw produce. Milk, flour, meats, orange juice, granola ect. This sounds like a stringent raw diet to me. However, I've seen many people on here saying that they've cut out processed foods, so I doubt that they're defining processed food in the same way. Is there a general connotation for this term, or is it something like "clean eating", where everyone has their own rules?

Replies

• SewersofCasaBonita
    Options
    Most people define 'processed' in their own way. Depends on what diet guru they're following.
  • Laurelthequeen
    Options
    I tend to view "processed" foods as things that are made with raw ingredients that I wouldn't have in my kitchen or be able to easily locate and buy.

Or something like bread having like 10 ingredients. I don't make bread with HFCS, but much of the bread on the market has it.
  • zillah73
    zillah73 Posts: 505 Member
    Options
    Like the person above me, I view "processed" foods as those which contain ingredients I can't just pick up on my own (with the exception of yogurt and cottage cheese – obviously, I can't just swing by the store and pick up active live cultures. :laugh:) If the ingredient list reads like a recipe, I'm probably cool with it. That said, I still opt to do most of my own cooking to make things from scratch and control the ingredients. And I don't have a "diet guru." I just have common sense. :smile:
  • magerum
    magerum Posts: 12,589 Member
    Options
    Would you all eat this piece of food?