how long to see fitness improvements for a total newbie?

Options
hi! i was hoping i could get some feedback/advice :)

i am a TOTAL newbie to exercise. i am 20, female, with a very good diet and quite a slim/slight frame. i currently do almost no exercise whatsoever - i walk around to get places, for 20min-1.5 hours a day, and thats about it.

ive tried a couple of yoga classes - they were doable, but not easy! i have very little muscular strength - i can barely do a push up, and holding the 'dog' pose in yoga is strenuous for me after a while. i tried going for a run a few weeks ago - after about 2-3 minutes i get quite bad pain in my chest/throat.

so, basically, despite being very healthy in nutrition-terms, and having no weight to lose, i am very unfit. i was considering joining a gym to try and get into shape, hopefully going about 3-4 times a week, for hopefully 30-45min, and engaging in cardio - biking machine? i hate running! - and strength training.

how long will it take to begin to see and feel an improvement in my fitness do you think? i know i can't expect results overnight, of course. i am wondering though whether it takes 2 months, 3, 4, etc to see a noticeable and encouraging improvement.

Replies

• Warchortle
    Warchortle Posts: 2,197 Member
    Options
    Based on energy levels and how you personally feel those sometimes happen more immediately within 1-2 weeks. Physical verifications of this improvement sometimes take longer like 2-4 weeks based off of the generalization people tend to see changes in physique at least at 5 lb increments.
  • SenseiCole
    SenseiCole Posts: 429 Member
    Options
    I start at the gym 3 weeks ago and I have seen a diff, I have been doing karate for 16 year and found going to the gym has made me fitter and stronger