When to Start Weight Training?

Options
Hi all,

Bit new to the whole 'being healthy' thing, having only really started keeping an eye on my calories/weight etc. over the course of the month - but MFP has been a big part of the success I've already seen, and hopefully will be a major part in making the changes etc. sustainable, so thank you guys!

Anyway, I'm aiming to lose around 30-40kg (65-90lbs), and am eating well and jogging around 4-5km at least 4-5 times a week, but would also like to start toning up. Nothing massive, just get a bit of definition etc. as the weight comes off. Is there a best time to do this as my dieting progresses - and what should I modify in my existing diet to compensate? I'm worried about the balance between trying to lose weight and build muscle mass...

Also, does anyone have any tips as to a good routine/programme to start on? I'm basically all flab at the moment, albeit I'm quite strong, but I'd be working from essentially complete novice - any advice appreciated!

Replies

• jc1961AA
    jc1961AA Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    I am sure a few people will suggest Stronglift 5x5, I have started on it about 3 weeks ago so can't really comment on success just yet.
    JC
  • ChrisLindsay9
    ChrisLindsay9 Posts: 837 Member
    Options
    I would suggest starting some sort of resistance/weight training as soon as possible. This will help you continue to burn bodyfat, and help tone you with lean muscle (and also to minimize the loose skin (aka flab) that comes from weight loss).

If you have access to a gym, you could start with some circuit training. Maybe the staff can help you with some programs? If there are personal trainers, you might be able to get a free consult and/or discounted rate on a small package? This might help you get an idea of what strength training program would be ideal to you?