Help!! BMI and body fat

Hi, I'm new to this but have lost 21 lbs since last October - which should be good and at one level it is because I'm now a size smaller - but despite as much exercise as my body will allow my scales still show me as over 50% body fat. The callipers would show it too! According to BMI I am now in the healthy range (22.5). I am 64 with two new hips and degenerative disc problems. I swim most days and do as much in the gym as my back will allow under physio supervision. I love walking and being active but ... how do I get the flabby bits to shift?
Any ideas please?

Replies

• Wish I could help. The thingy for me is showing a healthy weight for my height...5"8 is120....which would make me look anorexic
  • supermodelchic
    supermodelchic Posts: 550 Member
    I never go by BMI , only bodyfat levels, I have alot of muscle which weighs more that fat, so that said try to be as active as you can , eat a very clean diet, and hang in there..
  • I never go by BMI , only bodyfat levels, I have alot of muscle which weighs more that fat, so that said try to be as active as you can , eat a very clean diet, and hang in there..

Hey, my scale says BF -73 lbs.... does that mean I need to lose 73 lbs?
  • april849
    april849 Posts: 3
    Thx but I'm still confused!
  • amiaow
    amiaow Posts: 35 Member
    I suspect your new hips are screwing with your scale, which uses an electric current to test your resistance and then converts that to a body fat % based on whatever algorithm it is programmed with (ie they are dodgy). Ignore the scale, go by the mirror!

Shifting flabby bits is a matter of losing body fat, so that's your usual calorie deficit. However, replacing those flabby bits with firm bits comes down to building muscle, and exercise can help here. Swimming is great for overall tone, and perhaps with the help of your physio you could also take up some weight training- I've found that to be the biggest body-changer for me. Good luck!