Should Trainer Ask Health History?

Options
bjune5
bjune5 Posts: 70 Member
Hello All!
I’ve been doing group training sessions for the last 6 months with a trainer. I started getting meal plans from her about 1 month ago.
My trainer never asked me to complete a health history questionnaire or did an interview. Shouldn’t the trainer have done this?
Should I offer my health history? I have borderline diabetes and I have thyroid issues (due to the fact I don’t have a thyroid:wink: ).

Thanks!

Replies

• WhoButME28
    WhoButME28 Posts: 63 Member
    Options
    Hello All!
    I’ve been doing group training sessions for the last 6 months with a trainer. I started getting meal plans from her about 1 month ago.
    My trainer never asked me to complete a health history questionnaire or did an interview. Shouldn’t the trainer have done this?
    Should I offer my health history? I have borderline diabetes and I have thyroid issues (due to the fact I don’t have a thyroid:wink: ).

Thanks!

I'm not a personal trainer but I'd assume that would be one of the first things I'd want to know about a client of mine especially if I am going to the lengths of creating a custom meal plan for them. Just my two cents.
  • ukgirly01
    ukgirly01 Posts: 523 Member
    Options
    My coach asked me all about my health and fitness before we started and then did a fitness/mobilty/strength test and built me a program from there. It gave me a lot of confidence knowing they knew what they were talking about.
  • christy7322
    christy7322 Posts: 31
    Options
    Absolutely! This was one of the first things my trainer asked, it took an hour for us to go through the health assessment and physical assessment.
  • bokodasu
    bokodasu Posts: 629 Member
    Options