Help needed :)

Hey all,

I'm a newbie looking for some advice regarding diet. I binged on several trips in the past 6 months and gained 18 lbs. However, my weight didn't drop when I resumed my normal diet. And now, I don't really know how to go about weight loss without starving myself. I tried googling and things like 'cabbage soup diet, chocolate diet, lemonade diet..' popped up.

Normally, I eat three regular vegetarian meals a day and snack in the evening. Since yesterday, I'm on the fruit diet(for a week) but I'm scared that my metabolism is being compromised, making me less keen of continuing with it. I'm looking for some advice related to what diet plan I should follow.

Replies

• m4ttcheek
    m4ttcheek Posts: 229 Member
    Stop trying any "diets". Spend a week logging what you would normally then start making changes to reach your recommended calorie goal. Evolve your diet to meet your calorie limit rather then finding a completely new diet that doesn't suit you.
  • Ilaped
    Ilaped Posts: 6
    Thank you :)
    But If I stick to my normal diet, which is around 2,000-2,500 calories, how many hours of work out would I require to lose 2 pounds a week?
  • cgrout78
    cgrout78 Posts: 1,628 Member
    Losing 2 pounds a week is really hard if you don't have a LOT to lose, .5 to a pound a week is a much more realistic goal, especially if you want to keep the weight off.

A crash diet may help you lose the weight fast, but you'll gain in back just as fast.

Aim for a pound a week at most, and do strength training as well as cardio to help change body composition. You'll look better, even if the number on the scale isn't going down as much.
  • Silvervixen79
    Silvervixen79 Posts: 116 Member
    I dont know how it is even possible to eat 2000-2500 calories a day, if I manage to get through 1500 its been a naughty day of stuffing myself with whatever I like... which is not good.
  • Ilaped
    Ilaped Posts: 6