When to start lifting?

Options

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    as soon as possible... there is no time limit as to when to start.

Did you even read the question?

I know there's no time limit.

I wanted to know basically if it's better to lose weight then gain muscle or gain muscle then lose weight.

If you're losing weight with a calorie deficit and do not strength train, you lose muscle. Start now to get your newbie gains and to preserve the LBM you have. If you lose a bunch of your current LBM it's just going to be harder to get it back in the long run. Just continue to eat at a reasonable deficit and lift. I'm at maintenance and lifting now and continue to get awesome gains and reduce BF...I started lifting pretty much when I started dieting and dropped 35 Lbs and didn't lose any LBM in the process.
  • joleenl
    joleenl Posts: 739 Member
    Options
    I'm also interested in the answer to this question, but I never seem to find a satisfactory answer when a thread comes up.

I think the main answers I'm looking far are:

If I eat at a deficit and lift weights will I gain muscle, retain muscle or lose muscle?

ie, is it pointless to lift while eating at a deficit because if you lift you HAVE to do a leangains type diet or else you're wasting your time? And if it isn't pointless, what benefit are you getting from eating at a deficit all the time and lifting weights?

^^ FInally someone who speaks my mind!!!! I hope someone answers this!
  • joleenl
    Options
    This is what I did.... I would lift weights and do abs on Mon-Wed-Fri... Cardio days on Tues-Thurs-Sat rest Sunday. On my weight lifting days with no cardio..I figured out my BMR and ate about 200 more calories of that and increased protein..lowered carbs.