I Met My Weight Loss Goal and So Can You!

Options
powrwrap
powrwrap Posts: 85 Member
I met my weight loss goal, and so can you!

I'm 6'3" and 55 years old. I started at 229 lbs. the day after the Super Bowl. (One last fling! LOL.) Today I'm at 205 lbs. That was my weight during college. I'm thinking of going to 199 lbs since I weighed 195 lbs. when I graduated from high school, plus I want to see Onederland.

At the end of January I was told by my doctor that I would need to lose 25 lbs. and go on high blood pressure meds. If I didn't do it, he said, I would have a stroke. Astonishingly, the chain of clinics covered by my health care insurance does not have diet plans or a comprehensive weight loss plan. I could see a dietician, if desired. I passed on that, reasoning in the internet age there must be free resources out there. After searching I settled on MyFitnessPal.

What a great resource. It's so simple--if calories in is less than calories out, you WILL lose weight. Essentially, it's a math problem. MyFitnessPal forces you to examine your calorie intake choices and modify them to get a net negative result on a daily basis. Once you know the number of calories you can't keep stuffing things in your maw without consequences.

You can do this! Log everything you eat. Don't cheat. Enter it into your daily logs. Be sure you have a net loss of calories at the end of the day. One day I only had two calories left in the bank. Only two, but I was winning.

I found MFP's predictive weight and time frame was amazingly accurate. When you close out the day MFP will give you an estimate, for example, "If every day was like today you will weigh 202.5 lbs. in 6 weeks". Uncannily accurate. When I started it predicted I would weigh 205 lbs. in mid-May. It's May 23rd.

I exercised, but just barely. I have a rowing machine I would use a couple times a week, I've since quit doing. I do pushups, situps, and dumbbells. Some stretching exercises. Really, not very much.