Former Hottie

Options
Hey All!

My name is Alissa and today is my first day on MFP. I have been using WW online since March 2012, but I have gotten good results. I want to lose about 80lbs in all but losing 55 would get in me in the healthy range. Previously I was thin and fit and enjoyed that. I have been overweight for about 9 years. I am married with 3 children. I gained weight when my husband went through a series of layoffs from 2001-2003 and the financial burden was too much. I had always exercised to deal with stress, but with 2 kids, exercise was more stressful than helpful. And then I had a third baby. And then we moved to Mississippi. And we were poor. Fast forward 6 years and my husband has been gainfully employed since 2004 and we moved to South Florida 2 years ago. Now that the financial stress is gone, the children aren't babies, we live someplace we like and I can afford to spend some money on myself, like for Pilates classes or gym memberships, I want to quit carrying around this weight. Before my weight was almost like an outward display for all see how unhappy I was, but now that I'm happy, I don't want to look so miserable in my own skin. My true personality is upbeat, confident and outgoing, but with the weight, all of that seems more like a mask I wear to cover up misery, which doesn't actually exist anymore. I just want to be me, look like me and feel like me and right now only one of those is true- I am me.

Replies

• KravMark
    KravMark Posts: 308 Member
    Options
    Hey Feel free to add me :)

Mark.
  • cookn_mama
    cookn_mama Posts: 228 Member
    Options
    Hey! Been in your shoes.:smile: Add me if you want.
    Missy
  • Lupuschamp
    Lupuschamp Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    Wow, would love to follow your journey coming back from all that weight-wise. Sent you an add :)
  • WTBSE
    WTBSE Posts: 72 Member
    Options