How often should I take my measurements?

Options
Everyone says I shouldn't trust the scale...I'm new to taking my measurements...how often should I take them?

Thanks. :flowerforyou:

Replies

• kali31337
    kali31337 Posts: 1,048 Member
    Options
    I'm going for once a month. I'm actually more excited to look at those than I am my scale...
  • Crochetluvr
    Crochetluvr Posts: 3,143 Member
    Options
    MFP recommends every 2 weeks so that's what I do. Tomorrow is my weigh in/measuring day. :)
  • mrsjarvis11
    mrsjarvis11 Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    It's really how often you wish to do it. I however don't think doing it daily will be very productive because it takes time to lose an inch/inches. I weigh myself weekly and I am going to add measurements. Some may say this is too often but it's what I choose.
    You just have to find what you think is a good fit.
  • kmuree
    kmuree Posts: 283 Member
    Options
    Honestly, I do it once a month. (: I weigh myself weekly and on the 5th of every month (I began my journey on the 5th of May, so it's been the 5th ever since) I calculate my body fat %, my BMI (a lot of people say not to depend on it but I track it anyways) and I take all of my measurements.

:flowerforyou:
  • mom2dms
    mom2dms Posts: 152 Member
    Options
    I was terrible about taking measurements. I did weigh and take photos weekly. I would say every 10 lbs, take your measurements too??
  • kristenstejskal
    kristenstejskal Posts: 107 Member
    Options
    I say every month! I know MFP recommends every 2 weeks, but you have to lose a fair amount of fat to see visible results every 2 weeks (think about weight loss being spread out over your entire body....you'll see pretty small changes in measurement from week to week).