Running a 5K--am I stupid?

Options
Friends, I recently signed up for a 5K run/walk. The race is on September 23 and the course is relatively flat. I've never done a 5K before, and I've only been doing Couch-to-5K sporadically. Now, though, I am planning to begin training pretty hard. I am on week 3 right now, and it's fairly easy. I've been running after the couch to 5K workout, just to see how long I can go, and I'm at about 6-8 minutes. I'm a BIG girl, so I'm just wondering if I've made a mistake signing up for this race. I'm nervous! I've never done anything like this before, I can't run a mile without stopping, and I'm pretty sure that I am slooow. I have this vision of still being on the course as night falls and the clean-up crew has arrived :)

Tell me: is this a bad idea? Yes or no, do you have any tips or advice for training, experience as a bigger person running races, how to run longer distances, not being the fat girl finishing last, etc.? :)

Replies

• stephmo86
    Options
    You can do it!! It's not stupid, just do your best, stick to a training schedule, and be proud when you get there (and finish):-)

I'm running one on September 22:-) Also, have friends sign up with you! They'll be great encouragement!
  • sarahbethrn18
    sarahbethrn18 Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    Girl, no it's not stupid!! It's AWESOME! There will more than likely be people walking the entire 5K so I doubt you will finish last. Don't worry about that. Go, do your best, have a blast, and be so totally proud of yourself for doing this!
  • ksm_623
    ksm_623 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    You can do this! I ran my first 5k at about 210. I definitely couldn't run a mile without stopping. You just have choose a training schedule and stick with it. A goal without a plan is just a wish. Get out there and make it happen :)
  • BrianSharpe
    BrianSharpe Posts: 9,248 Member
    Options