how long till you stop gaining muscle?

Options
Ive been working out on average 3 hours a day for a couple months now, and though Ive lost a bunch of inches, and feel amazing ...the scale is painfully slow to move...I understand that its because Im gaining muscle and all that, but when? pray tell, will I stop gaining muscle...and start dropping pounds? I know its stupid to fixate on the numbers on the little metal box, but I cant help it, Im shallow like that.

Replies

• zechks
    zechks Posts: 224
    Options
    Every person has it's maximum genetic potential when it comes to gaining muscle, when you reach that then you will not gain anymore muscle. I don't have the exact statistics but that's the idea. It's good to gain muscle.. It's all about gaining muscle and losing the fat and let the mirror be your judge and not the scale.
  • 2hobbit1
    2hobbit1 Posts: 820 Member
    Options
    Step away from the scale - it lies! You have more energy - look great - have lost inches.
    Follow you body fat % and how your clothes fit - they don't lie!
  • iris8pie
    iris8pie Posts: 224 Member
    Options
    You guys are awesome, and I totally appreciate your responses. But I still want to know:

When will the number start going down???????

from your experience. when did it start happening for you after you started working out on a regular basis?
  • joslin2005
    joslin2005 Posts: 138
    Options
    bump... I am would like to know as well
  • drmerc
    drmerc Posts: 2,603 Member
    Options
    If you are losing inches why do you care what the scale says?
  • _granola
    _granola Posts: 326
    Options
    You are not gaining muscle.

And if you are truly exercising for 3 hours a day, I doubt 1600 calories a day is going to work well in the long run.

The scale is always painfully slow. Have patience and eat. Eat. Eat. Eat. And if you are losing inches, then the scale shouldn't matter.
  • jdholland5508
    jdholland5508 Posts: 162 Member
    Options