Runner's Advice

Options
2»

Replies

• CarsonRuns
    CarsonRuns Posts: 3,039 Member
    Options
    What am I supposed to be looking for in a shoe?

YOU aren't supposed to be looking for anything. Go to a specialty running store and let them fit you. They will analyze your gait and make appropriate recommendations for the right kind of shoe for the way you run, your height weight, etc.
  • jhunn123
    jhunn123 Posts: 100 Member
    Options
    You all have been a great help! Thanks a lot
  • mhotch
    mhotch Posts: 901 Member
    Options
    on a slightly seperate topic, what are some good music tracks for running?

I found a website called "JogFM.com" You can search by song, artist, or running pace. I am a newbie runner. I put a search for 10 min mile pace and a list of songs came up for that pace. I then went into my Itunes and made running playlists. You can also search by beats per minute. A 10 min mile is approx 150 BPM, {if memory serves me right}. You can also download songs from that site. I have no idea how much it costs.
  • jrax1
    Options
    I had a doc tell me to do this stretch when I had shin pain as a beginning runner - keeping your bare feet flat on a towel on the floor and, using your toes only, try to draw up or bunch up the towel. Sounds weird, but it was quite a stretch. After awhile, I no longer needed to do it. Good luck.
  • areufnkiddingme
    areufnkiddingme Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    Im really tall and all legs as well - 37" inseam, my gait is 3.5-4 ft - I had to stop wearing cushioned soles because they were making ti worse, I switched to a half inch or thinner sole and dont have the shin splints anymore and the balance is worlds better. All that stabilizing on the cushioned sole was wreaking havoc on my legs.