Is your goal weight too low?

Options
2»

Replies

• LMPMOM4
    Options
    My goal weight is 140 but when I use that formula it tells me 149. Interesting! I would love to not have to lose those last 9 pounds. If I look good at 149 what do I care about a number on the scale!!!
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,411 MFP Moderator
    Options
    My goal weight is 140 but when I use that formula it tells me 149. Interesting! I would love to not have to lose those last 9 pounds. If I look good at 149 what do I care about a number on the scale!!!

10 lbs of muscle loss would have been huge. That is why once you near a normal weight, fat loss should be the priority.
  • slkehl
    slkehl Posts: 3,801 Member
    Options
    I reset my goal weight, and I'm thinking it may still be too low. My goal weight was the weight I graduated high school at. I was looking though pictures, and I was pretty skinny. Still a teen, didn't look like a woman. So I added a few pounds. But now that I'm working out regularly, I may add a few for muscle as well.
  • myfitnessval
    myfitnessval Posts: 687 Member
    Options
    i set my goal weight before really researching my body frame and type, just going off of BMI charts really and i realized its a little on the low side. since i am large framed my goal of 140 (i'm 5'6) is on the low end of what i'll probably end up at. 150 scares me because its SO CLOSE to the 'overweight' BMI category and i hate that label, i really do so i'm going to try my hardest to get under 150 without looking like an anorexic. lol i might never get there since i am starting a lifting program, but its my goal.
  • mitch16
    mitch16 Posts: 2,113 Member
    Options