Are you addicted to food? NY Times quiz

Options

Replies

• Koldnomore
    Koldnomore Posts: 1,613 Member
    Options
    Your score: 0
    Not Addicted.

Based on your answers, you do not meet the criteria for food addiction as defined by the Yale Food Addiction Scale.

Why am I fat then?

I got the same as you.

I am fat because I eat too much good food not because I eat when I am not hungry or for other emotional reasons. I eat too fast and thus the signal to my brain to stop eating is delayed significantly and I over eat leading to weight gain :) I have slowed my eating significantly since starting my journey and find I am not having any problems adjusting to a lower and more normal intake.
  • funkyspunky872
    funkyspunky872 Posts: 866 Member
    Options
    Possibly addicted for me... Which I'm not surprised since the quiz doesn't focus on any other eating problems. I'm recovering from bulimia -- of course I think about food and I am not good with hunger cues. Of course I'm anxious when I cut things out and sometimes try 'eat my feelings'. An anorexic would get a 'food addict' score, especially since the amounts of food are not specified as being 'large amounts'.
  • ethansmug
    ethansmug Posts: 159 Member
    Options
    It's a bit B.S. isn't it? Seven questions for something that goes as deep as an addiction... something just seems off about that.
  • LipSmackingFun
    LipSmackingFun Posts: 24 Member
    Options
    I'm addicted. :sad: Yes I need help, that's why I'm on MFP. :wink:
  • Velum_cado
    Velum_cado Posts: 1,608 Member
    Options
    I'm definitely a food addict. I'd die without it.

*ba dum*

Honestly, though... I'm not even going to take this quiz, because I'm not sure how to answer. I know if I wasn't being careful with my diet, and using MFP, and trying to lose weight, I'd definitely answer those questions differently.
  • sailorbacon
    sailorbacon Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    Score: 14