Thoughts on "cheat day"

Options
I am very new at this. I am on day 8. I have done very well with both my diet and exercise & have already lost weight. Do any of you take a cheat day or cheat meal? If so, how often & to what extreme? I am doing good but I wonder how long I can keep this up. Thanks!

Replies

• ascotton80
    ascotton80 Posts: 56 Member
    Options
    You need to structure your diet in a way that can be sustained long term, not thought of as being "on" and "off".

Structure your plan so that you can indulge in what you want sometimes, in moderate amounts.
  • liftingheavy
    liftingheavy Posts: 551 Member
    Options
    I have a cheat day at least once a week, which usually turns into two, and lately... more. I think an occasional cheat day is good for a metabolism jolt, but only if you are positive it's not a slippery slope back into regular bad eating habits.

So generally I say no cheat days until you hit your goal weight or are close to it - OR if you know that you are disciplined enough to make it just that one cheat day then back on the wagon.
  • BonnieWegner
    BonnieWegner Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I don't have a cheat day or meals. I make sure that I stay within my calories as much as possible. Some days if I know that I'm having a higher calorie dinner, I trade my lunch for a lower calorie option.

You don't have to give up all of the good things, you just have to find a balance for them.
  • Mistychristensen
    Options
    I am a big fan of a cheat day! It really helps me to get through the week knowing that I can anything I want, 1 day a week. I did Body For Life which incorporates the cheat day, and consistenly lost 2 lbs a week. When I do use one I am VERY strict during the week. (when I do them, anything goes!)
  • lisamarie327
    lisamarie327 Posts: 77 Member
    Options