New runner question

Options
I just started running, up to a 20 minute run. My question is I'm running about 3-5 days week, trying to, today I ran since Friday and my front of my legs were burning. I couldn't go very far and had to do walk / run versus straight run. How do you prevent this?? Tips on running longer??
Thanks!

Replies

• ksavy
    ksavy Posts: 271 Member
    Options
    Could possibly be your shoes. If you want to take up running more you may want to go to a running store and get fitted for a proper pair.
  • kristapennie
    kristapennie Posts: 105 Member
    Options
    I'm not a pro runner, just an expert jogger..lol...but this sounds like shin splints!

Are you pounding pavement? Trail Running? Treadmill?

Do you have supportive shoes?
  • nikaeda
    nikaeda Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I would consider a beginner's training program, such as Couch to 5k. I've been running off and on for years; back on for about a year. When my legs start to hurt, it's because my shoes are run down and need to be switched. If you plan to continue running, you should definitely get fitted for running shoes at a running store. You will find great deals at the outlet stores and malls, but a running store will consider how you run and where your feet need the most support. Running stores also typically have running groups. I am definitely more motivated when I have company during my run. Good luck!
  • RenewedRunner
    RenewedRunner Posts: 423 Member
    Options
    First off, unless you are coming from another sport, you may be going too much too soon. You are brand new? And running 1.5+miles? That is a lot. You may need to do run/walk intervals. Not just for your lungs and stamina but also for your body/joints to get used to the pounding. Look at C25k or any other intro program