New to MFP; anyone else have gym anxiety?

Options
Hi, all:

I don't know if this is the appropriate place to post this, but I am new to MFP and my goal is approximately 100lbs. I'm a 31 year old lady, and I currently weigh 238lbs (down from 240lbs -- it's the little things!) at 5'5". I guess I'm looking for any support, because I have severe anxiety about going to the gym. I've been to the gym many times in the past, but have a lot of anxiety about the general atmosphere, particularly as a larger person.

Suggestions? Support? Advice? My weight loss is not simply geared at transforming my body, but also my perspective and emotional/mental stability. I am a recovering alcoholic (thanks for the extra weight, excessive beer drinking!), and I acknowledge the importance of counseling/therapy (which I am undergoing). I would be happy to have any gentle push.

I eat healthily, and rarely do I dine out. I'm cautious about sugars, and never, ever drink soda. I have just begun walking to and from work every day (approximately 2 miles each way), but I imagine that as my weight loss journey progresses, I'll want to add other activities to my routine. So are there other people out there who are/were initially gym-phobic? And how do you get beyond that? Thank you!

Replies

• chivalryder
    chivalryder Posts: 4,391 Member
    Options
    I have a gym anxiety. My solution: Don't go to the gym.

Everything you can do at a gym, you can do in your own home, or outside. Read up on body weight strength training and do something you enjoy and doesn't require equipment for your cardio!

Most importantly: Have fun. If it turns into a chore, you're going to end up quitting before you reach any goals.
  • tinad120
    tinad120 Posts: 267 Member
    Options
    I used to be a gym-phobe, but I just realized, I don't give a damn. I go to the gym for me and MY goals, not for anyone else in there. And I've also told myself that no one cares what I do, so whatevs.