you don't need to carb load for a 5k & other running wisdom

Options

Replies

• AlessisMore
    AlessisMore Posts: 179 Member
    Options
    Don't ever eat bok choy the night before a race. Everyone around you will hate you and you'll probably end up in witness protection.
  • nkyjennifer
    nkyjennifer Posts: 135 Member
    Options
    Love this thread SO MUCH! I'm still new to running, but here's what I've learned

~ Invest in a foam roller - oh it hurts so good!

~ Lunges and squats will keep your leg muscles balanced and help prevent injury. (I also like to use a rowing machine for this when I can get access to one)

~ It's OK to call your workouts "runs" even if you're doing intervals.

Already mentioned, but I'm going to reiterate:

~ Hydrate the day and hours before your run and you won't need water while you're out.

~ Stretch those IT Bands! Foam roller will help this, too.

~ If both of your feet are leaving the ground at the same time, you're a runner. "Jogging" is just another word for it. :-)
  • ChaseAlder
    ChaseAlder Posts: 804 Member
    Options

I'm just starting to run myself. And one thing I've noticed is-- those running in the streets. And I'm generally interested as to why. Why not run on the sidewalk? Is it due to cars coming in and out of driveways?

For me, it's because I can't stand the up and down, up and down, up and down you get when you run on the sidewalk... every driveway and cross-street... off the curb, up onto the curb, driveway dip, driveway dip, more curb.... ugh! I just want to stay on one level surface!
  • nellyett
    nellyett Posts: 436 Member
    Options
    Bump for later :)
  • ka97
    ka97 Posts: 1,984 Member
    Options