Phew, this is gonna be a lot of work!

Options
Hi! I'm pretty new to MFP. Been tracking calories for about 2 weeks now and was surprised that I've already lost 1 pound without much exercise. I'm currently at 218 lbs and a size 18. My target weight is 146. That's 72 lbs to lose. At 2 lbs a week, I think I can reach my goal in about 9 months.

I'm tired of being overweight, having no energy and struggling to find clothes that fit. My daughter weighs 50 lbs and I'm struggling to lift her in and out of her carseat everyday. My goal for this time next year is to be able to run in our local autism 5k. (My daughter has autism.) I also would like to be able to shop in a normal store without having to shop the plus section online.

I have a few things working against me. I'm bipolar and on several meds that make me hungry all the time. My daughter has special needs and has doctors and therapy appointments everyday. I don't really know how to cook healthy foods. But I've been reading everyone else's success stories and I think to myself, "If they can do it, then I can do it too."

So no more excuses. It's time to get to work. I've already started to watch what I eat and tomorrow I have an appointment with a fit coach at the gym to get me started on a good workout plan. My friends and family are behind me and that helps a lot. It also helps having a community like this. I'm so glad I found MFP!

Replies

• goingmad
    Options
    Hi, good luck with your journey, I've also got quite a lot to lose so it'll be good to have someone else to support along the way.
  • Nana_Booboo
    Nana_Booboo Posts: 501 Member
    Options
    MFP recommends 1 lb a week.

There will be weeks you don't lose while staying within goal, or gain while staying within goal or drop 3 lbs even when you are eating more than allowed. It's not exactly 2 lbs a week even if you're set up that way so don't get discouraged.