Coming off of a low carb diet

Options
Hi everyone!

My first post on the forums, but I really need some advice. After doing a lot of research, I decided to start a low carb diet of my own creation - very strict initially, but I've incorporated healthy carbs etc.

I'm now nearing my final 6-10 pounds, and I wanted to know what's the best way to come off of a LC diet - Atkin's fans suggest 5g increments, but this seems tedious and difficult to gauge! I'm tempted to see what happens if I go straight into a low fat, medium carb, healthy diet, although I'm one of these people that is obsessed with what the scales say. I really don't want to see a 10 pound increase due to glycogen and water stores!

Any advice is priceless,
Thanks again!

Replies

• dschafer34
    Options
    I have been doing a low carb diet for several months now, with a couple "cheat" periods, and once where I went off the diet completely (financial reasons).

Why exactly do you want to go off the diet? Research has shown a lot of health benefits of low carb diets. A couple important long term benefits are possible cancer inhibition and much less free radical creation.

I would recommend slowly increasing your carb intake so you can have more foods you want, and simply maintain your weight rather than continue to lose. You ideally want to stay in a state of mild ketosis, and not knock yourself completely out of ketosis and become carb adapted again. Thats kind of where I am right now, after losing ~50lbs on keto.

Whatever you decide you want to do, I'll tell you this. going off the diet sucks. Eating lots of carbs again affects different people differently, but for me (and most low carbers I know, with a couple exceptions), you start feeling like crap for a week or two before you fully carb adapt. This is kind of similar to the week or two when you first started keto, but its worse. For me, I get indigestion, gas, heartburn, diahrrea, and reduced athletic performance for a week or so.
  • SammyAlbon