I need to STOP emotional eating! Tips?

Options
I've been doing good for the past 5 months, but something happened recently that's triggering my emotional eating. Getting to that point where you just don't care about calories and you want that temporary satisfaction.

Does anyone have any tips/ways of thinking that helps avoid this problem?

Replies

• kenazfehu
    kenazfehu Posts: 1,188 Member
    Options
    I know how very difficult that is because I do the same. We have to keep in mind that we are in control of what we put into our mouths. It's not like somebody is tying us down and force-feeding us. Sometimes I find myself in the kitchen with the cabinets open and yell out loud "STOP!" Eating doesn't help, it only gives us something new to be miserable about. I'd rather only be miserable about one thing, wouldn't you?
  • EnchantedEvening
    EnchantedEvening Posts: 671 Member
    Options
    I try to find something else that will make me feel better. I really love to listen to music and daydream, so if I feel a binge coming on, I go for a walk with my iPod. I don't try to go for a burn or anything like that, just a nice, leisurely walk with some music. It almost always makes me feel better, and if I DO still feel like having some candy, I've just burned 100 - 200 calories and can have it. Win-win. :)

If I simply cannot get over the desire to eat everything in sight, though, I try to pick something low-cal but yummy. Popcorn is my favorite. I can eat a HUGE bowl of popcorn and satisfy that desire to munch munch munch for only 108 calories.
  • BellaNoel87
    BellaNoel87 Posts: 19 Member
    Options