Running vs jogging for slimmer legs?

Options
I am sure I once read that jogging will build larger legs whilst running(faster speeds) will slim legs down?
Is there any truth to this?

Replies

• mcgeheeks
    Options
    I have no "trainer" knowledge BUT I do run... so here is my take on this question:
    I just finished training for and running the Marine Corps Marathon. I can honestly say I don't think I lost a single inch from my legs- in fact I think my pants fit tighter than they did 6 months ago! Super frustrating!!! Anyway- I feel like when I ran faster rather than farther I made more progress on "toning" what I've got. I have muscular legs (always have). Just my 2 cents. I'd love to hear if my theory is true!?
  • bluechip777
    bluechip777 Posts: 160 Member
    Options
    No
  • hayeskw
    hayeskw Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    Think about what the legs of sprinters in track and field look like vs. the long distance runners. Both are at the top of their game but could be comparison to runners vs. joggers could be made.
  • arc918
    arc918 Posts: 2,037 Member
    Options
    Running vs. jogging is more of a state of mind that a definition of speed.

Don't call me a jogger!
  • QTRARO
    QTRARO Posts: 75 Member
    Options
    I found that running / jogging ... just doing interval training with pilates using a band helped slim my legs down.

I think my thighs got muscly a bit from squats but that's ok for me as I like definition.
  • GiddyupTim
    GiddyupTim Posts: 2,819 Member
    Options
    Think about what the legs of sprinters in track and field look like vs. the long distance runners. Both are at the top of their game but could be comparison to runners vs. joggers could be made.

Hayeskw is right. Look at serious sprinters compared with serious distance runners. Distance runners are thin and lithe. Sprinters are thick and muscular. That should answer your question. Your statement has it backwards.