Adding some interval training can go a long way.....

bjandlm
bjandlm Posts: 75
edited September 20 in Fitness and Exercise
My wife re-introduced me to interval training when she began having success with it. I remember
way back in high school when this type of training was popular during cross country practice. I began
experimenting with this again by adding small amounts of it to my training program. You do not
have to add large intervals to have success. I began by just increasing my speed on the treadmill
by just a couple mph for short spurts, I slowly have added faster and longer intervals to my routine.
I find that adding interval training a couple times a week really helps with the weight loss. I recommend
adding interval training for anyone having a little more trouble losing the weight.

Replies

• sunshinestate
    sunshinestate Posts: 110 Member
    I am just beginning HIGH intensity intervals. I go for 10 minutes to warm up, then do 30 second sprints as hard as I possibly can, then rest for 1 minute to 2 minutes. I repeat this process at least 5 times. Always follow with a cool down. This has completely replaced my long walks on the treadmill!
  • I had plateaued a couple weeks ago, and read up on interval training. i decided to work it into my cardio sessions, and its a miracle ha ha ha ive dropped a few pounds already, without changing my diet or anything, and i believe the new workouts are to blame.

i highly recommend this to people who are looking for that boost. it also helps build endurance as well :)
  • TropicalKitty
    TropicalKitty Posts: 2,298 Member
    It's really supposed to help you burn a lot more calories than staying at one speed. And as you've said, it helps you increase the speed you can handle.

Plus, it's a great way to work out some frustration! hehe