How far could you run when you started running?

Options
When I first started running I could run .15 miles before dying for air. Now I can run about 2 miles. How far could you run when you started running and how far can you run now?

Replies

• Yogi_Carl
    Yogi_Carl Posts: 1,906 Member
    Options
    30 seconds! then I worked on run/walk and extended my run ratio to walks and now I can run for 60 minutes, though I am the slowest runner I know but that's ok cos I run alone!
  • taso42
    taso42 Posts: 8,980 Member
    Options
    When I first started, maybe to the end of the block, but I doubt I would even make it that far.

My "longest" run was 10k. That's plenty for me. I don't really train for running distance and endurance.
  • helengetshealthy
    helengetshealthy Posts: 171 Member
    Options
    I'm replying to this thread because I'm just getting started in running, and the furthest distance I ran yesterday (on the treadmill) was 0.3 miles, I'm hoping to do 0.5 by the end of the year.
  • againagain
    againagain Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    30 seconds. Am up to a mile, which is about 11 minutes, which is slow, but that is OK! I can do 2 miles with a 2 min walk break between. It's amazing how quickly you improve.
  • nexangelus
    nexangelus Posts: 2,080 Member
    Options
    When I began, spurts of a few hundred metres, before walking, then running, then walking...now I can run half marathon distance if needed. Want to get that up to marathon distance next year though...wheee!
  • dpvike80
    dpvike80 Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    When I first started, I would "run" a quarter mile and walk a quarter mile. In November, I completed my second half marathon....so, I can run at least 13.1 miles now.
  • alipene
    alipene Posts: 945 Member
    Options