Should you eat even if you are not hungry?

Options
1235»

Replies

• mgarciar
    Options
    this is great to know. i am new to this whole losing weight process. so i am learning as i go. i used to not be very active and eat a lot. now that my eating and exercise habits have changed, i am definitely trying to learn more about my body and how to maintain my weight loss. if i sound a little absurd it is only because this is all new to me. i am glad that people like yourself can educate me a lot more. quote]
    yes, i did. there are some really great ideas, suggestions and research. i am glad to know that i will not go into starvation mode. lol i definitely will keep many of them in mind.
    im 5'4 :)
    Eating less than 1200 calories will NOT cause starvation mode if you're more than 10% body fat.

This makes perfect sense, i never go n2 starvation mode and always wondered why, my bodyfat % is high and i suspect this is true for a lot of ppl who don't strength train-- the MFP. Member who started this post may be short. She didn't list her height but i see her as pretty short and don't think she should " force feed"....esp not to the point of feeling sick.
    Oh Boy, ppl who feel nausea usually can't swallow.

Did you look at the responses to the post? If not, I suggest you do.
    [/quote]

'Stavation mode' in any context used (rightly or wrongly) is not a black and white line. In the context of a VLCD you run the risk of losing more LBM than on a more moderate deficit. It is not a case of 'going into starvation mode or not'. You don't lose LBM at one calorie level and not at 1 calorie more - it is a continuum. This is also true for hormonal imbalances and metabolic adaptation,
    [/quote]
  • WendyTerry420
    WendyTerry420 Posts: 13,274 Member
    Options