Recovering from an anorexia, focusing on being healthy

Okay, so for the longest time I was actively anorexic. I have since recovered, and want to focus on being healthy. When I recovered I gained a lot back, mostly fat. Now I want to gain muscle while losing fat. I am currently 97 lbs and 5 feet tall (anorexia stunted my growth) and my BMI is 18.94, body fat % 19.4%. I want to gain a minimum of 10 lbs of muscle and lose around 5 lbs of fat. I still struggle with eating enough, so my intake is still really low. The transition of not being monitored has really thrown me, and I'm slowly bringing my intake back up. I really need the support, and would love to have healthy intakes to compare with. Good luck with health!

Replies

• MemphisKitten
    MemphisKitten Posts: 878 Member
    I am working on recovering from Bulimia, but I would be happy to support you if you want to add me. I have some knowledge about what to eat, how much, and all that jazz from years of being obsessed and taking some college courses on Nutrition; but as we both know, logic and EDs don't go well together.
  • RobynLB
    RobynLB Posts: 617 Member
    Hi. I sent you a friend request. I'm a recovered anorexic and I eat like a horse. Also, I train a lot ;)

Just a word of caution... If your BMI is still that low, I'm a little worried that you aren't fully recovered, and just being on MFP and focusing on body composition could feed into eating disorder behavior, but you're a grown woman, so I'm not going to lecture you like a little kid (beyond what I just did).
  • I know, it is still really low. My doctor would like to see me above 100 lbs, so I want to gain that in muscle. I have already gained some weight, and all my tests are normal. Thanks for the concern.
  • MemphisKitten
    MemphisKitten Posts: 878 Member
    Hi. I sent you a friend request. I'm a recovered anorexic and I eat like a horse. Also, I train a lot ;)