Elliptical vs Cross trainers?

Options
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to exercise but i have been trying with dvd's and such and pleased with my progress so far, but I want to do that bit more (without having to go to an actual gym with actual people who may actually see me lol)... So i've been thinking about spending my Christmas gift money on home trainer of some sort, people seem to highly rate elliptical and cross trainers...

My question is... What's the difference? :blushing: Are they just another name for the same thing?

What is your opinion of them? Is it worth buying an all singing all dancing one or go for a budget one?

Also - can anyone recommend a good one? (I'm from the UK)

Replies

• pandorakick
    pandorakick Posts: 901 Member
    Options
    As far as I know they are the same.
  • flipertyflip
    flipertyflip Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Hello, i can't help with advice on equipment but well done. Do you run at all ? If not it's one of the cheapest and best ways to shed calories and get fitter. At the moment there are loads of Run England beginers groups about but if thats not for you (they are very good) you could just map out a mile loop (use mapmyrun or similar) and start run walking.
    Good luck and well don so far.
  • evdenapoli
    evdenapoli Posts: 164 Member
    Options
    To be honest I don't know the difference of the 2..but I bought myself an Elliptical las year and I love it!! It's a total body work out and I burn the most calories with it.. My only advice, the Elliptical's that tell you your calories burned are in accurate. I suggest depending on your heart rate monitor for accurate data. Hope that helps.
  • Bobby__Clerici
    Bobby__Clerici Posts: 741 Member
    Options
    There is no either or...do BOTH!
    Alternate your training routine with all sorts of different methods rooted in what you enjoy doing.
    They key is to just get moving and stay the course long term.