heart rate zones...real or BS?

Options
i got a Polar FT4 the other day and i've been reading about the different heart rate zones to target. i've also seen on here people stating that you can exercise in your fat burning, aerobic, and anaerobic zones to change the distribution of your calories burned - say, whether you burn calories from carbs or calories from fat.

what i want to know is, is this a real thing i should be paying attention to, or should i just be striving to burn as many calories as possible? also, if i do exercise within a certain range in order to target burning fat or carb calories, can i (or should i) adjust my macros for the day based on that burn?

Replies

• seena511
    seena511 Posts: 685 Member
    Options
    bump!
  • tnqnt
    tnqnt Posts: 397 Member
    Options
    FWIW, from my personal experience with a Polar FT-60, I wholeheartedly believe in the training zones.

I spent years over-exercising and had not much success, but since I started training in zones (I do all 3 zones), mostly zone 1, I have lost over 40 lbs in 7 months. I am almost at my goal and I have kept it off and am still losing (albeit slower than at the beginning). The key, I have found, is to mix it up: have some weeks where you do mostly lower zones and then throw some HIIT into the program to mix it up. Also, most of my zone 1 is done in weight lifting and resistance training, where most of my zone 2 and 3 is cardio (some zone 3 is also resistance training)....

Good luck :)
  • HoneyRiot
    HoneyRiot Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    First, I don't have a Polar HRM yet. I will be getting one in month or so. I currently use the HRM on my elliptical machine as a guide.