Heart rate

Options
Yesterday while I was Running on the treadmill my mother was nagging me and telling me to stop running because it's bad to keep your heart rate up for too long . She said her trainer at work told her that. I've never heard anything like that before so I just wanted to know if it's true . I only ran for thirty mins witha five min warm up and two min cool down

Replies

• eganita
    eganita Posts: 501 Member
    Options
    I think it depends on a lot of factors, such as your age, target heart rate, what your heart rate reading was while on the treadmill, whether you have any medical conditions, etc.

You may find this information below to be helpful. I am no medical expert or anything like that, though. I also definitely go over 85% of my "max" heart rate when working out, mostly when I do interval workouts or when I am playing hockey, but I don't typically maintain that level for extended periods of time. On the site below, maximum heart rate is only an estimate based on your age; it can vary based on other factors as well (that's why I put max in quotes above). I hope this helps.

http://my.clevelandclinic.org/heart/prevention/exercise/pulsethr.aspx

What is target heart rate?

You gain the most benefits and lessen the risks when you exercise in your target heart rate zone. Usually this is when your exercise heart rate (pulse) is 60 to 80 percent of your maximum heart rate. In some cases, your health care provider may decrease your target heart rate zone to begin with 50 percent.

It is not recommended to exercise above 85 percent of your maximum heart rate. Intensity at that level increases both cardiovascular and orthopedic risk with minimal, additional health-related benefit from the exercise.

Always check with your health care provider before starting an exercise program. Your health care provider can help you find a program and target heart rate zone that matches your needs, goals and physical condition.