ideas for snacks after work

Options
I need some help with ideas on what I can eat for a snack after work. I'm a substitute teacher during the day and some evenings and weekends I work retail. My problem is I will eat a quick dinner(usually 400-500 calories) then go off to work for about 5/6hours, I get a quick break, where I drink water and might have some pretzels. When I get off at 10pm or later I'm hungry and I still have calories left usually 100-300 calories depending upon the day. Any suggestions for snacks?????

Thanks!
Sher

Replies

• melonclarinet
    melonclarinet Posts: 163 Member
    Options
    My new find is Greek Yogurt. I got the light and fit with blueberries and then I added about 4 blackberries. I added the blackberries strictly for taste. It was less than 100 calories and VERY filling, plus the added protein is great.
  • JustPeachy044
    JustPeachy044 Posts: 770 Member
    Options
    It depends partially on what you are eating for those meals...what are you typically short on? protein? healthy fats?

I teach. It is easiest for me to keep on hand one of the following:
    *nuts (good fats, protein, fiber)
    *fruit (fresh is best--apples are easy to toss into a bag and take with you, easy to eat. a clementine is a small sweet quick snack also)

since i don't like processed stuff much, these are my best 2 suggestions.
  • sherrielafleur
    Options
    My breakfast is usually a yogurt, and sometimes just a half a cup of cereal for a mid morning snack, so I avoid yogurts for the rest of the day just because I like variety! Lunch is usually a sandwich and a serving of low fat pretzels, my dinner is always different! I'm just looking for suggestions on a snack to eat when I get home late from work. Popcorn, or a hard boiled egg, lowfat cottage cheese is all pretty low and I'm getting tired of the same old, same old.
  • smeklc
    smeklc Posts: 94 Member
    Options