Job and how it affects your eating habits:

Options
Hey everyone, I was just curious what your job is and how it affects your eating habits? I'm a pharmacist and it definitely impacts how I snack / meals I eat. (unlike today) I am usually pretty busy while I'm at work, so it definitely cuts down on my snacking. What about you all? Anybody else have any barriers with your job that may help / hinder your ability to lose weight? Just curious!

-Scott

Replies

• hayleycreates
    hayleycreates Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    My job is pretty stressful. I'm in an office, insurance stuff (Commercial, not health). I've noticed over the past few years that I've really "needed" that 3pm chocolate fix. Sometimes I found myself needing it at 9:30am!! So I've made some major changes in my work space. Firstly, I don't keep anything that is a trigger food near me. Then, after lunch, I put together a veggie tub (It's a gladware bowl) with a few cups of different veggies. I keep it on my desk through the afternoon in case I have the urge to munch something. I've noticed that even that has decreased a bit now.
    The other thing I would do is drink coffee all day, loaded with cream and sugar. Now, the only beverage I drink in the office is water. The exception is if I really need another coffee or something, at lunch I'll go to Starbucks for a Skinny Vanilla Latte.
    I find keeping the stuff out of my site, desk etc helps me stay on track.
  • MichaelVakili
    MichaelVakili Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    Well my job / jobs was an obstacle and it is still an obstacle, but I find my way to lose weight.
  • tisha_rae
    tisha_rae Posts: 216 Member
    Options
    I work in an office where we have a kitchen, which is nice – I can bring food in & keep in the fridge….that’s a HUGE plus for me.

There are plenty of negatives though – when you work in an office you are sitting on your butt most of the time – ( I try to move around a lot)
    Sometimes you work right thru your lunch