Cooking professionally - do I count it?

Options
Hey everybody! Just a quick question. I've scoured the boards and can't seem to find a concise answer to this. I'm a chef and spend 8-12 hours a day, on my feet, cooking in a hot kitchen. We are a very busy place and I run a saute line, flipping pans, bending, lifting, and running back and forth all shift. I'm curious if I should log my time at work as "cooking and food prep". I set my activity level as "light activity" due to the fact that before I started this weight loss journey I was pretty sedentary outside of work. I have been logging about 6hrs of "cooking/food prep" per shift which is logging as over 1000 calories burned. I just want to make sure I should be deducting those, or if I should change my daily activity level and not count any of my time cooking. Thanks for the help!

Replies

• tommygirl15
    tommygirl15 Posts: 1,012 Member
    Options
    I'm also a cook, and I set my activity level to 'active' for that reason.... especially if the job includes putting away stock and all that other fun stuff. I think you're better off upping your activity level rather than to log it as exercise each day because your body has already become accustom to that.
  • ldonahue74
    ldonahue74 Posts: 53 Member
    Options
    I wondered the same thing, as I'm in the same line of work. I, however, have not been counting it towards my activity
  • kimberliiw
    kimberliiw Posts: 242 Member
    Options
    I would change my activity level. I work in the health field and walk 6 miles a day and don't count it. If I ate a thousand extra calories a day I would gain like crazy.
  • neanderthin
    neanderthin Posts: 10,020 Member
    Options