My FIL...vent

Options
Lisa1971
Lisa1971 Posts: 3,069 Member
So my FIL came over for dinner last night and told us that he updated his will and that my kids (his only grandchildren) will NOT get any of his money when he passes away if they ever get a tattoo! What???

Then he went on to preach about how "everyone with a tattoo is a total loser and they'll never amount to anything ....blah blah blah." I have a tattoo but I don't know if my FIL has ever seen it. It's a paw print on my ankle. I used to be a vet tech and I wanted to get one.

Sorry, I know it's HIS money but c'mon really? A tattoo? I can see if my kids ever did drugs or committed a crime or something but I think getting a tattoo is trivial! He even said he'd make sure when he died they got checked over by a doctor for tattoos. If there are any found then no money.
And yes, he is serious.

I wanted to tell him that it was a choice just like he is a full blown alcoholic and what someone does to their body is none of his business!

Thoughts???? Oh, and he is a millionaire by the way. My kids would be taken care of for life pretty much.

Replies

• Vallandingham
    Vallandingham Posts: 2,177
    Options
    What an *kitten*. His money, though. When you count on someone else's money, you have to play by their rules.

I love my kids to death, but I have told them from the beginning, don't count on inheriting a fortune from me. I plan to spend every cent on my wife and I. They are all independent and will m ake their own way in life. As they should.
  • aedfit
    aedfit Posts: 65 Member
    Options