Desk Workouts

Options
As a graphic designer, I am stuck at my desk most of the day. I try and get up at least once an hour to walk around and stretch so my body doesn't get stiff and sore. But I still feel like I should be doing more.

My boss is really awesome and said if I want to get a stability ball to sit on instead of my chair I can. He doesn't care as long as I'm happy and that I'm productive.

Is this something that works? what do you guys do at your desk jobs?

Replies

• sunsnstatheart
    sunsnstatheart Posts: 2,544 Member
    Options
    Get a stand up desk. That, and make sure you're getting in your real workouts.
  • tinabell153
    tinabell153 Posts: 298 Member
    Options
    I'm a graphic designer too! The stand up desk is a good idea. The IT guy here got one and it's pretty awesome. I don't think I'd like to stand all the time, but it is much better for you lol.

I do leg and ab exercises at my desk and instead of a stability ball I just sit at the edge of my chair (I look really alert and people tend to stare, but it engages the abs and back). I also fidget a lot. Moving my legs up and down standing at random times, walking to the break room or restroom and walk back. Any time I can get movement in I try. I also take walks during my lunch break.

I also do workouts at home after work. Mostly Jillian Michaels DVDs.
  • mmm_drop
    mmm_drop Posts: 1,126 Member
    Options
    I walk on my breaks and lunch...even if it is just laps around the cubicles area at work because the weather is crummy. Plus I workout after work alternating cardio and strength training. I know it isn't super insightful, but I hope it helps!
  • dadeys1
    dadeys1 Posts: 40 Member
    Options
    HASFit.com has some free "at your desk" workout videos. I haven't tried them but they are designed for the office and low-intensity so you don't get all sweaty.
  • juliemouse83
    juliemouse83 Posts: 6,663 Member
    Options