Runners - how do I stop the, er, runs?

Options
I have been working out in the morning for 6+ months now, and I started out walking, and sometimes at the end of my walks I'd have to rush to the bathroom. Well, I've stepped up my workouts to include some jogging and HIIT, and now 99% of the time I have to take a bathroom break in the middle of my workout. How can you stop running from being a laxative? Is there something I can eat before I go to bed to clog me up for the morning? I'm just fortunate that right now I'm working out at home inside - if I were trying to go for a run outside, I'd have to quit.

Replies

• smbkrn
    smbkrn Posts: 30 Member
    Options
    Consistent diet. This means trying something out for a few days at a time and noting how it worked for you. Sometimes, this can be a bit flusterating until you understand how certain foods will react. I have 2 general rules: 1) Keep it light and 2) plan your route so there is an accesible bathroom (port-a-potty or gas station) along your route. If you have a hard time on shorter runs 1-5 miles, try waiting for breakfast until after your run.
  • rachelnelson76
    rachelnelson76 Posts: 35 Member
    Options
    Hubby had this problem during marathon training, found that waiting a bit after waking did the trick. He would take an hour or so for coffee to kick in, go to the bathroom, THEN do his runs.
  • Lovlilyn
    Lovlilyn Posts: 79 Member
    Options
    Thanks, but I don't eat breakfast before my run now. I guess I should have said I work out at 5 AM.
  • Lovlilyn
    Options
    Hubby had this problem during marathon training, found that waiting a bit after waking did the trick. He would take an hour or so for coffee to kick in, go to the bathroom, THEN do his runs.

Yeah, I can't wait - I have from 5 - 6:15 am for my work out, and that's it.

Any other suggestions? Others must run (no pun intended) into this situation . . .
  • tallgirlshelley
    tallgirlshelley Posts: 108 Member
    Options