I don't have a huge amount to lose but I'm struggling!

Options
Hi Guys,

I'm 5ft 3 and weigh a healthy 144lbs at the moment. When I was younger, my average weight was 126lbs (we're talking over 15 years ago). As I have gotten older, I have stayed around the 140Ibs mark but I would like to go back to being somewhere between 126 -133Ibs. I'm sure that there will be some people who will read this post and disregard it because I have a small amount of weight to lose but I would very much appreciate some advice.

I am fairly new to MFP and in the past I have lost weight by going on two diets in particular - the Cambridge diet and the Atkins. I would like to lose weight by limiting my calorie intake and upping my exercise regime so that the weight stays off. On Monday 7th January, I set up my profile and MFP set me a daily goal of 1200 calories. Since then, I have always been under my daily goal by a hundred or so calories and on the days that I do exercise, I make sure that I increase my calorie intake but still remain under my daily goal.

There are occasions where I complete my diary for the day and MFP informs me that I am having too few calories which may make me enter starvation mode.

So far my weight loss/gain has been as follows:

Mon 7th - 144 Ibs
Tues 8th - 143 Ibs
Weds 9th - 143 Ibs
Thurs 10th - 143 Ibs
Fri 11th - 145 Ibs
Sat 12th - 141 lbs
Sun 13th - 141 Ibs
Mon 14th - 143 Ibs
Tues 15th - 143 Ibs
Weds 16th - 143 Ibs
Thurs 17th - 144 Ibs

So I'm back to where I started despite only consuming less than 1200 calories per day and doing an increased amount of exercise. I'm thinking about limiting myself to 1200 calories per day regardless of how much exercise I do. Is this a good idea?

I know that I have only been adopting this approach for less than a couple of weeks and am more than happy to stick to what I am doing if people on here think that they weight will start to diminish eventually!