Rest days?

Options
I've started incorporating weights into my workouts, and I know most people recommend a rest day between.

My problem is, I work 12 hour shifts 3 or 4 times a week, so I can only make it to the gym the other days. Trust me, I'm not going after work, I'd fall asleep there! Most of the time my days off are in blocks of 2 or 3, so if I skipped the gym once for a rest day I'd only be able to do it 2 times a week. I was just wondering what people think of doing it 2 days in a row so that I can still fit it in? I know it's not ideal, but at the moment it seems to be my only option.

Please don't suggest going before or after work though! I'm a nurse, I work my bum off, I really just don't have the energy for the gym after a day at work! On those days I usually go for a walk/jog on my break (if I get one!) just to keep myself moving.

Replies

• Top_Hat_82
    Top_Hat_82 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    I don't think it's too much of a problem, it's better to fit it when you can, and allow your body to recover for the rest of the week. I have done consecutive days with weight training and that was on the advice of a personal trainer!
  • notthatthis
    Options
    Understanding the nature of your job and working strange shifts and therefore foregoing the usual advice that is handed out. May I recommend that you add more resistance to your daily work. You could consider buying a weight vest at work increasingly adding more weight to the vest. I know it sounds cruel but it may be a solution.
  • BerryH
    BerryH Posts: 4,698 Member
    Options
    Why not alternate upper body and lower body?
  • beskimoosh
    beskimoosh Posts: 375 Member
    Options

It's a good idea, but I'd only get 2 days a week at the most for each if I did that
  • beskimoosh
    beskimoosh Posts: 375 Member
    Options