The Most Accurate Method of Calculating TDEE?

Options
2»

Replies

• Jaulen
    Jaulen Posts: 468 Member
    Options
    I use my Body Media Link armband to calculate my TDEE. The online calculators aren't even close to what I get by measuring.

Does it measure your TDEE higher or lower than the calculators gave you?

Just wdonering since for me, both were really close. The armband was slightly lower.
  • MinisterTom
    MinisterTom Posts: 108 Member
    Options
    My measurements from the Armband are much lower than the TDEE calculators. By a couple hundred calories. The other thing is, I am a college professor. My activity levels are very much not constant from week to week in most cases. The TDEE calculator would not give me a good weekly update like the armband does.

Last Week:
    Calculated: 3336
    Measured: 3174
  • cmpollard01
    Options
    I agree that one equation does not fit all body types! I just had my Resting Metabolic Rate Test done on Saturday. What a HUGE eye opener!! I have hypothyroidism and even being on medication, watching calories, and exercising has not helped. And yes i change my workouts every 4-6 weeksand do heavy lifting. ;) I found out I'm not eating enough calories and they explained that my body will not let go of the fat until it knows I will keep feeding it properly. It costs $65 and took about 10 minutes. You can google RMR Testing and find places near you like a hospital, gym, clinic, etc. Worth every penny!

Thank you! I am having so many problems with my hypothyroidism, and I'm so glad to know I'm not the only one that struggles relentlessly! I'm going to ask my new dr about that and see if she can clue me in to where I can get that done!
  • RetiredAndLovingIt
    RetiredAndLovingIt Posts: 1,394 Member
    Options
    Bump
  • cyoka13
    cyoka13 Posts: 288 Member
    Options